Wallace K. McClure purchased this home on Temple Avenue (now Volunteer Boulevard) from Henry H. Ingersoll in 1902. He and his family lived in the house until his death in 1921. In 1941, Wallace McClure Jr. donated the house to the University of Tennessee as part of the W.K. McClure Foundation for the Study of World Affairs that he had founded as a memorial for his father. The house was demolished in the 1960s.
The University of Tennessee's Agricultural Experiment Station was established in 1882 with the intention of furthering agricultural research in the state. It grew quickly, and by 1900 branch stations were being built so that research could be conducted under specific local conditions. Today, these stations continue to research numerous topics and provide important contributions to agricultural science in Tennessee and around the world.
Named after Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, the Hotel Farragut opened on the corner of Gay and Clinch (the site of the old Imperial Hotel) on February 1, 1919. It flourished until 1929 when the Andrew Johnson Hotel opened nearby, after which time the two hotels provided each other with stiff competition. The Farragut closed in 1977 and was converted into office space in 1978.
Captain Thomas Tomlinson built the Tate Springs Hotel in the late 1800s near one of the mineral springs flowing from Clinch Mountain in Grainger County. The resort, which featured cottages, stables, a golf course, and a park, was extremely prosperous until the Great Depression. The original structure was torn down in 1936 and the property was sold to Kingswood School in 1941. Today, the only remnant of the hotel is a gazebo standing near the mineral spring.
The Christian Union Community Club was formed in about 1918 and disbanded in 1929. The building shown was later used for other benevolent purposes, including a WPA night school and a Junior League Day Nursery.
Colonel James Van Deventer and his family lived in this home on Temple Avenue (now called Volunteer Boulevard) from approximately 1900 until 1908. The University of Tennessee later used the structure as its Faculty Club, and the building was finally razed in the 1980s to allow for the construction of Hodges Library.
View of the Knoxville & Augusta (later Southern) Railroad bridge. This picture was taken from near the foot of the University of Tennessee's "Hill" and shows the sparse development of south Knoxville during the late 19th and early 20th century.
View of the Henley Street Bridge and the Railroad Bridge crossing the Tennessee River in Knoxville, Tennessee. Visible in the background are the main building of the Baptist Hospital and the Blount Professional Building.
View of an unidentified lumber wagon in the Knoxville area. According to Victor Hyde, lumber was a key Knoxville industry during the city's development, although the mills processed increasing amounts of imported lumber as the local supply became depleted.
Intersection of Kingston Pike and Scenic Drive during the late 19th century. The Pike began as a 15-mile toll road stretching from Knoxville to Campbell's Station. It had been completely paved by the 1920s and began to develop as a commercial area in the 1930s. It still serves as a major Knoxville thoroughfare today.
This train, which came from Louisville, Kentucky on the East Tennessee, Virginia & Georgia Railroad, was the first through train to arrive in Knoxville. The ETV&G was formed when the East Tennessee & Georgia Railroad merged with the East Tennessee & Virginia Railroad in 1869. The new railroad expanded significantly before merging with the Richmond and Danville Railroad to form the Southern Railway in 1895.
The Circle Park neighborhood was home to many of Knoxville's richest and most prominent citizens during the early part of the 20th century. The area began to decline in the 1940s, and the University of Tennessee bought most of the neighborhood in the 1950s. Between 1960 and 1968, the University razed the original structures to make way for such buildings as the Andy Holt Tower and the McClung Museum, many of which are still in use.
This image shows the University of Tennessee's "Hill" as seen from Circle Park. Visible buildings include Old College, North College, Barbara Blount Hall, the YMCA, and some of the residences once located near the campus.