Built in 1812, this structure originally served as prominent Knoxvillian James Parks' private residence. The Knoxville Academy of Medicine purchased the building in 1949 and added a large addition (not shown) in 1968. The building is now listed on the National Register of Historic Places and further restoration is planned.
View of the front entrance to Knoxville's old City Hall. The building was constructed in 1844 and originally housed the Tennessee School for the Deaf. It served as a makeshift hospital for both Union and Confederate troops during the Civil War but returned to its original purpose when the war ended. It became Knoxville's City Hall in 1924, and continued in this function until 1980. The structure is now listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
This image shows a plan for the development of Central Metropolitan Knoxville put forth by the Knoxville-Knox County Metropolitan Planning Commission in 1962. The plan demonstrates options for commercial, office, parking, public, residential, and adjacent use.
Ariel view of Knoxville, Tennessee taken from the south side of the Tennessee River. Among the structures visible are the Gay Street Bridge, the Andrew Johnson Hotel, the Hamilton Bank Building, and the Knoxville Coliseum.
The Knoxville Civic Auditorium and Coliseum opened in the fall of 1961. Built with musical performances in mind, it seats 2,500 people and offers a 57 foot by 54 foot stage. It has also hosted such non-musical entertainments as circuses and ice shows.
Wallace K. McClure purchased this home on Temple Avenue (now Volunteer Boulevard) from Henry H. Ingersoll in 1902. He and his family lived in the house until his death in 1921. In 1941, Wallace McClure Jr. donated the house to the University of Tennessee as part of the W.K. McClure Foundation for the Study of World Affairs that he had founded as a memorial for his father. The house was demolished in the 1960s.
The University of Tennessee's Agricultural Experiment Station was established in 1882 with the intention of furthering agricultural research in the state. It grew quickly, and by 1900 branch stations were being built so that research could be conducted under specific local conditions. Today, these stations continue to research numerous topics and provide important contributions to agricultural science in Tennessee and around the world.
Named after Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, the Hotel Farragut opened on the corner of Gay and Clinch (the site of the old Imperial Hotel) on February 1, 1919. It flourished until 1929 when the Andrew Johnson Hotel opened nearby, after which time the two hotels provided each other with stiff competition. The Farragut closed in 1977 and was converted into office space in 1978.
Captain Thomas Tomlinson built the Tate Springs Hotel in the late 1800s near one of the mineral springs flowing from Clinch Mountain in Grainger County. The resort, which featured cottages, stables, a golf course, and a park, was extremely prosperous until the Great Depression. The original structure was torn down in 1936 and the property was sold to Kingswood School in 1941. Today, the only remnant of the hotel is a gazebo standing near the mineral spring.
The Christian Union Community Club was formed in about 1918 and disbanded in 1929. The building shown was later used for other benevolent purposes, including a WPA night school and a Junior League Day Nursery.
Colonel James Van Deventer and his family lived in this home on Temple Avenue (now called Volunteer Boulevard) from approximately 1900 until 1908. The University of Tennessee later used the structure as its Faculty Club, and the building was finally razed in the 1980s to allow for the construction of Hodges Library.
View of the Knoxville & Augusta (later Southern) Railroad bridge. This picture was taken from near the foot of the University of Tennessee's "Hill" and shows the sparse development of south Knoxville during the late 19th and early 20th century.
View of the Henley Street Bridge and the Railroad Bridge crossing the Tennessee River in Knoxville, Tennessee. Visible in the background are the main building of the Baptist Hospital and the Blount Professional Building.
View of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad yards and terminals. The Commonwealth of Kentucky granted the L&N a charter on March 5, 1850 and the Tennessee State Legislature authorized the railroad's extension to Nashville on December 4, 1851. The railroad began expanding after the Civil War and eventually reached such cities as Knoxville (Tennessee), Montgomery (Alabama), Norton (Virginia), and New Orleans (Louisiana). By the time the Seabord Coastline Railroad bought the L&N in 1971, it operated 6,574 miles of track in 13 states.
This train, which came from Louisville, Kentucky on the East Tennessee, Virginia & Georgia Railroad, was the first through train to arrive in Knoxville. The ETV&G was formed when the East Tennessee & Georgia Railroad merged with the East Tennessee & Virginia Railroad in 1869. The new railroad expanded significantly before merging with the Richmond and Danville Railroad to form the Southern Railway in 1895.