Ariel view of Knoxville, Tennessee taken from the south side of the Tennessee River. Among the structures visible are the Gay Street Bridge, the Andrew Johnson Hotel, the Hamilton Bank Building, and the Knoxville Coliseum.
The Knoxville Civic Auditorium and Coliseum opened in the fall of 1961. Built with musical performances in mind, it seats 2,500 people and offers a 57 foot by 54 foot stage. It has also hosted such non-musical entertainments as circuses and ice shows.
View of Knoxville's Chapman Highway showing such businesses as Cliff Pettit Motors, McDonalds, and Shoney's. According to the caption, the "jumble of utility poles, signs, buildings, and parking lots ... illustrates the strip highway problem studied by the University of Tennessee School of Architecture."
Wallace K. McClure purchased this home on Temple Avenue (now Volunteer Boulevard) from Henry H. Ingersoll in 1902. He and his family lived in the house until his death in 1921. In 1941, Wallace McClure Jr. donated the house to the University of Tennessee as part of the W.K. McClure Foundation for the Study of World Affairs that he had founded as a memorial for his father. The house was demolished in the 1960s.
The J.J. Craig Company founded the Candoro Marble Works in South Knoxville in 1914. This business finished marble blocks taken from quarries in Knox, Blount, and Loudon counties in addition to marble imported from around the world. At its peak, it employed about 140 people.
Named after Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, the Hotel Farragut opened on the corner of Gay and Clinch (the site of the old Imperial Hotel) on February 1, 1919. It flourished until 1929 when the Andrew Johnson Hotel opened nearby, after which time the two hotels provided each other with stiff competition. The Farragut closed in 1977 and was converted into office space in 1978.
The Christian Union Community Club was formed in about 1918 and disbanded in 1929. The building shown was later used for other benevolent purposes, including a WPA night school and a Junior League Day Nursery.
Colonel James Van Deventer and his family lived in this home on Temple Avenue (now called Volunteer Boulevard) from approximately 1900 until 1908. The University of Tennessee later used the structure as its Faculty Club, and the building was finally razed in the 1980s to allow for the construction of Hodges Library.
View of the Knoxville & Augusta (later Southern) Railroad bridge. This picture was taken from near the foot of the University of Tennessee's "Hill" and shows the sparse development of south Knoxville during the late 19th and early 20th century.
View of the Henley Street Bridge and the Railroad Bridge crossing the Tennessee River in Knoxville, Tennessee. Visible in the background are the main building of the Baptist Hospital and the Blount Professional Building.
View of an unidentified lumber wagon in the Knoxville area. According to Victor Hyde, lumber was a key Knoxville industry during the city's development, although the mills processed increasing amounts of imported lumber as the local supply became depleted.
Intersection of Kingston Pike and Scenic Drive during the late 19th century. The Pike began as a 15-mile toll road stretching from Knoxville to Campbell's Station. It had been completely paved by the 1920s and began to develop as a commercial area in the 1930s. It still serves as a major Knoxville thoroughfare today.
View of the Louisville & Nashville Railroad yards and terminals. The Commonwealth of Kentucky granted the L&N a charter on March 5, 1850 and the Tennessee State Legislature authorized the railroad's extension to Nashville on December 4, 1851. The railroad began expanding after the Civil War and eventually reached such cities as Knoxville (Tennessee), Montgomery (Alabama), Norton (Virginia), and New Orleans (Louisiana). By the time the Seabord Coastline Railroad bought the L&N in 1971, it operated 6,574 miles of track in 13 states.
This train, which came from Louisville, Kentucky on the East Tennessee, Virginia & Georgia Railroad, was the first through train to arrive in Knoxville. The ETV&G was formed when the East Tennessee & Georgia Railroad merged with the East Tennessee & Virginia Railroad in 1869. The new railroad expanded significantly before merging with the Richmond and Danville Railroad to form the Southern Railway in 1895.