The Second Presbyterian Church was organized in 1818 due to a split (brought on by disagreements over doctrine and renting pews) in the First Presbyterian Church's congregation. They built their first church on the west side of Prince (now Market) Street in 1820. The congregation grew quickly and moved to a larger building on the corner of Clinch Avenue and Market Street in 1860. The area around the church grew more congested as Knoxville grew, and the congregation sold their Market Street property and moved to a new building on the corner of Clinch and Walnut in 1905. The congregation eventually outgrew this building as well, and moved to a structure on Kingston Pike in 1957.
Named after Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, the Hotel Farragut opened on the corner of Gay and Clinch (the site of the old Imperial Hotel) on February 1, 1919. It flourished until 1929 when the Andrew Johnson Hotel opened nearby, after which time the two hotels provided each other with stiff competition. The Farragut closed in 1977 and was converted into office space in 1978.
The Imperial Hotel was built on the corner of Gay and Clinch Streets in about 1894. It replaced several older businesses, including the Hotel Hattie. The Imperial burned down in 1916 and was replaced by the "completely fireproof" Farragut Hotel in 1919.
The original Whittle Springs Hotel was built in about 1902 about three miles to the north of Knoxville. It advertised such conveniences as electric lights, baths, unexcelled cuisine, and both telephone and telegraph connections. This structure burned in 1919, and the second Whittle Springs Hotel (shown) was constructed on the same site. This building was razed in 1964.
Four children playing on the front lawn of Mrs. Jane Kennedy's home. General James White built part of the house itself (the first in Knoxville) in 1786. It was originally located at one corner of a rectangular lot with smaller houses in the other three corners, a common frontier design intended to proctect against Indians. After the White family established a farm away from this location, the structure was repurposed as the kitchen wing of the Kennedy residence on State Street. In 1906, Isaiah Ford purchased the building and moved it to Woodlawn Pike, where he used it as a private residence. It changed hands again in 1970, when the City Association of Women's Clubs purchased the home and moved it back to central Knoxvil