Featuring images from the mid-nineteenth century through the late twentieth century, this digital collection is comprised of photographs and postcards from around the East Tennessee region. Particularly rich in images of Knoxville, the collection includes images of airports, exteriors and interiors of buildings (such as homes, businesses, schools, churches, hospitals), vistas, people, and more. Also present are photographs of the 1982 World's Fair in downtown Knoxville. This collection provides a glimpse at the development of Knoxville and the larger East Tennessee region.
The Tennessee Historical Commission conducted an architectural survey in 1983 of over 4,600 Blount County buildings that were over 50 years old (dating from 1800 to 1930). These images represent a wide variety of building types, such as stone structures, log houses, wooden-frame churches, and brick schoolhouses. A selection of 94 images, representative of the larger collection, is available now.
The Second Presbyterian Church was organized in 1818 due to a split (brought on by disagreements over doctrine and renting pews) in the First Presbyterian Church's congregation. They built their first church on the west side of Prince (now Market) Street in 1820. The congregation grew quickly and moved to a larger building on the corner of Clinch Avenue and Market Street in 1860. The area around the church grew more congested as Knoxville grew, and the congregation sold their Market Street property and moved to a new building on the corner of Clinch and Walnut in 1905. The congregation eventually outgrew this building as well, and moved to a structure on Kingston Pike in 1957.
Named after Admiral David Glasgow Farragut, the Hotel Farragut opened on the corner of Gay and Clinch (the site of the old Imperial Hotel) on February 1, 1919. It flourished until 1929 when the Andrew Johnson Hotel opened nearby, after which time the two hotels provided each other with stiff competition. The Farragut closed in 1977 and was converted into office space in 1978.
The Imperial Hotel was built on the corner of Gay and Clinch Streets in about 1894. It replaced several older businesses, including the Hotel Hattie. The Imperial burned down in 1916 and was replaced by the "completely fireproof" Farragut Hotel in 1919.
The original Whittle Springs Hotel was built in about 1902 about three miles to the north of Knoxville. It advertised such conveniences as electric lights, baths, unexcelled cuisine, and both telephone and telegraph connections. This structure burned in 1919, and the second Whittle Springs Hotel (shown) was constructed on the same site. This building was razed in 1964.